GBSO 011

1913 – 40 amateur musicians formed a casual civic group, later to become the Green Bay Symphony Orchestra, led by Alex Enna
1915 - Walter Larsen, concertmaster of GBSO, conducted 2 concerts per season
1929 - Rudolph Arens, a faculty at Lawrence Conservatory, further established the ensemble into the Polyphonia Society

1942 – As members left to fight in WWII the Society disbanded.



GBSO 019

1946 - Herman Daumler, a former concertmaster of the Polyphonia, reorganized the orchestra again as the Green Bay Symphonette
1952 - Ralph Holter becomes the Symphonette concertmaster
1955 – The GBSO became an incorporated organization in Wisconsin
1965 – The GBSO officially earned its 501(c)3 status as a non-profit organization
1966 –  Oleg Kovalenko is hired as the first full-time, professional music director of the GBSO; orchestra officially becomes Green Bay Symphony Orchestra
1967 – The GBSO Youth Orchestra Program began
1972 - Miroslav Pansky, a prominent Czech conductor whose tenure with the GBSO witnessed a period of great growth and diversity for the Orchestra
1995 - Shinik Hahm, a Korean native, also served as music director of the Yale Symphony and the Abilene Philharmonic
2001 - Bridget-Michaele Reischl became our ninth music director
2011 - Donato Cabrera takes the podium as the 10th music director of the GBSO

2014 – GBSO announces the 2014-2015 season will be its last. Octavio Mas-Arocas is principal conductor for farewell season.

2015 – Final concert performed April 11, 2015 at the Weidner Center for Performing Arts. Program featured three soloists who were all past members of the Youth Orchestra Program, plus 20 current Youth Orchestra members in a side-by-side with GBSO players, all in tribute to the next generation of great musicians.



Guest artists to have collaborated with the Orchestra include Maxim Venegrov, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Jean Phillipe Collard, Robert Spano, Arnaldo Cohen, and Livia Sohn, among others.  In 2005, the GBSO was granted the Music Alive composer residency program of the American Symphony Orchestra League and Meet the Composer and, over the course of the past several years,has had the opportunity to work with, commission, and premiere music of composers David Dzubay, Jennifer Higdon, Daniel Kellogg, Philip Rothman, and Zhou Tian.


The orchestra made its first-ever appearance at Lambeau Field in 2008, performing the National Anthem in front of 72,000 fans at a Green Bay Packers home game.  The orchestra was invited back for 5 more years in a row.